Bloggy mum bliss

Yesterday I attended my very first blogger event, if you’re on Twitter you may have seen the #big4mno hashtag flying around. Obviously I don’t have anything to compare it to but wow, wow, WOW!

First of all, the accommodation and facilities at Big 4 Bellarine Peninsula are far and away the best I’ve seen for families, and we stayed at a LOT of places on our Queensland roadtrip!

The cabins are clearly designed with families in mind. I stayed in a beautiful 3 bedroom cabin (all by myself, oh the silence, bliss!). Bright, modern, decent kitchen with oven and dishwasher, hello!!!

Oh my gosh I nearly forgot the best bit! KING size bed in the main bedroom. That’s right, parental luxury right there.

The playground is ah-maz-ing. Seriously, if you take the kids you will not have to go anywhere else, there’s 2 big jumping pillows, cubby house, climbing frame, sandpit, swings…..

A warning for mums, the jumping pillows are heaps of fun, but it certainly tests the strength of your pelvic floor muscles, if you know what I mean…

Elsewhere on site is a flying fox, indoor heated swimming pool (a delicious 33c), indoor kids play room, peddle power go-karts, a walking track around the park, a theatre room…poor Thommo was home with the kids and kept getting messages as I discovered things “ooooh and there’s this! And this!”. Oh yeah, there’s soccer goal, footy goals, bocce and croquet. And yet I’m still probably forgetting something.

But for me, the BIG stand out was all the little details. You can really tell it’s been designed by parents of a young family, all the little details they’ve included are designed to make holidaying with kids so much easier. The decks off the cabins have full railing with 2 gates, perfect for keeping small ones contained while you organise meals or get ready to go out. One of the bedrooms in the cabin I was in had a nook designed for a portacot, that’s a huge thing to me. When we were away trying to find a spot in small cabins and apartments to put a portacot or 2 that was quiet and yet not in the way was a complete PITA. A sweet set of polka dot teacups and saucers instead of the usual plain white made me smile.

Plastic crockery ready for littlies:

And along with all the picnic tables scattered around the park  weere these wee kiddy size ones. Yeah, I really like little details.

Attention to detail is clearly what the Big 4 Bellarine team are good at. We bloggers were spoiled with a fun race with challenges that took us all over the park. A delicious candlelit dinner, dancing until the wee hours, waking up to newspapers on our doorsteps before a delicious breakfast. I floated home after an amazing massage.

Even though this was my very first blog event I’m pretty sure Big 4 Bellarine just raised the bar on blog events, waaaaaay raised it. Thanks for inviting me Big 4 Bellarine, I had a fantastic time! Thommo and I are already planning on invading with the Thomlets sometime soon.

5 Responses to Bloggy mum bliss

  1. Kerry says:

    I’m booking a holiday there today, just based on this recommendation. You’ve made me excited about it, just reading your blog post. On that basis alone they should offer you Thommo and the Thomlets a free weekend there!

  2. Mandy says:

    Great review and yes all sooo perfect. Lovely to meet you.

  3. Danielle says:

    Wow! my girls would LOVE it there!

  4. […] started with a couple of days at Big4 Bellarine. I told you how awesome it is there way back in May so I won’t gush too much. The bed was still blissfully comfortable, the pool so gloriously […]

Leave a Reply

