Quinoa “risotto”

I have PCOS (poly cystic ovary syndrome), I’m insulin resistant, as a lot of women with PCOS are, and fairly sensitive to carbs. If I have too much carbs/sugar I’m lethargic, moody and the next day feel remarkably like I have a hangover.

Problem is, carbs are some of my favourite foods! Pasta, couscous, soft white bread, chocolate…mmmm chocolate. Slowly, we are making changes to minimize the bad carbs, switching white bread for multigrain, Cadbury dairy milk for dark chocolate etc etc. Last night I used quinoa to make a spin on a risotto and it was surprisingly delicious. Well, a surprise to me anyway! You know my rules about recipes, quick, easy and delicious.

Ingredients
2 cups quinoa grains
4 cups chicken stock
2 chicken breasts, diced
1 onion, diced
Olive oil
2 rashers of bacon, diced
Mushrooms, sliced (I used about 8?)
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
Big handful of baby spinach
Parmesan cheese, grated, to taste

20120331-111641.jpg

Heat oil in a pan and gently cook onion and chicken until onion is translucent and chicken almost cooked through. I use an electric frying pan because my stove is small and annoying.

20120331-111855.jpg

Add the bacon and the mushrooms, cook, stirring, until bacon is starting to brown.

20120331-112040.jpg

Add quinoa and garlic and stir for about a minute, much like you would a risotto.

20120331-112222.jpg

Pour in the stock and put the lid on. You could use some wine as well. Leave to simmer for about 10 minutes. At this point I needed a little bit more water, about a cup.

20120331-112414.jpg

Stir through your spinach and Parmesan until cheese is melted and spinach wilted.

20120331-112549.jpg

And you’re done! Time to serve and enjoy.

20120331-112754.jpg

This fed the 6 of us, plus seconds for Thommo and I and lunch for me today.

One Response to Quinoa “risotto”

  1. […] Quinoa “risotto” « Living a Truly Blessed Life […]

Leave a Reply

