Twinlets’ Suessical Birthday Bash!

This party was about 6 months in the making. I’ve been pinning ideas, planning the menu, replanning the menu, crafting, sourcing items and annoying people with all the tiny details for months!

Sounds crazy right? All this effort for 2 babies who won’t even know what’s going on! But really, for us, it wasn’t just about the babies, it was about thanking all the people who have supported us through this year, celebrating our survival (6 months with 4 under 4 and 6 with 4 under 5 deserves celebrating!) and of course, the bubbas smashing cake all over their face😉

It all started with a Dr Suess inspired party pack I stumbled across on Etsy. I wanted the invitations to be really special and set the fun, celebratory tone for the party, so I contacted Gayle at I Will Invitations who came up with these beauties:

The party was held at a park, I was adamant I wanted 1 particular gazebo, close to play equipment for the older kids, grass for the younger ones, away from barbecues, close to toilets etc etc etc. We arrived 2 hours before the party to make sure we snagged it, eager beavers! About 20 minutes after we arrived 2 of our very gorgeous friends arrived to help us set up, can not thank them enough! We decorated with banners and signs from the printable pack,the pack included Dr Suess quotes as well which I planned to use but in the end they somehow got forgotten.

I have a new found respect for fat quarters. I’m not really a quilter and it just doesn’t seem like enough fabric to me, I like metres dammit! Anyway, I grabbed a fat quarter of Dr Suess fabric and it streeeeeetched. The big 2 picked out which characters they wanted appliqued to their tshirts:

The twinlets’ had a “1” appliqued to the back of their bodysuits (the front had a “Thing 1” and “Thing 2” applique):

The remaining intact characters I cut out, glued onto card then onto bamboo skewers and scattered them through the food:

The food was all Suess inspired. There was Hop on Popcorn, Truffala Tray (veggie sticks and hommus) and Schlott’s Knots (cheese and vegemite scrolls and ham cheese and tomato scrolls):

One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish. Huge thanks to the lovely Angela who sent the twins several packets of Goldfish crackers for their birthday. The kids all had a ball “fishing” for crackers!

Grinch dip (spinach cob loaf), Who cakes (vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream) and Crumbies in Tummies:

Truffala Pops:

Brown-Bar-Ba-Loot’s truffala fruits:

I had also made several variations of green eggs and ham (bacon and spinach frittata, aspargus and pesto frittata and zucchini slice) but I didn’t take it out of the freezer until just as we were leaving because I wanted it to stay cool in the car. Of course, it was still frozen when the party started!

Now for the all important cake!

The cuppies are red velvet with cream cheese frosting and fairy floss. The main cake had a surprise inside:

Instead of lolly bags we gave Dr Suess books and lollipops:

We had such a wonderful day, I hope our guests enjoyed themselves as much as we did!

And now for some ok fine, a lot, of photos of the gorgeous guests of honour:

7 Responses to Twinlets’ Suessical Birthday Bash!

  1. Erin says:

    Was such a wonderful day. Your efforts have astounded everyone I have spoken to. Megs, you and Thommo continue to amaze me as you grow into a dynamic duo -so much love for each other and your beautiful boys.
    Well done on your amazing party, can’t wait to celebrate again next year🙂

  2. Stayday says:

    Wow what a superb job you did- looks like the boys had fun!

  3. Amy says:

    What a magical day! Everything you have done looks just incredible- wow!!

  4. Bee says:

    Fantastic photos Megs, you did an amazing job!

  5. Lou says:

    I’m still in awe of the cake and all I want to know is “how” you did the pink heart in the middle! Great job Meme! xo

  6. Kat says:

    Hi, I’m a friend of McHooty – don’t know why I decided to net-stalk you. Anyhow, this is the second Dr Seuss themed 1st birthday held in November 2011 for twin boys party I’ve seen so far. Looked like it was fun🙂
    I had a 1st birthday, but I went with the Very Hungry Caterpillar (sort of) in the park.
    Anyway, I love your blog!

  7. Megs says:

    Hi Kat! Thanks for your comment😀

Leave a Reply

