Things I know – Party baking edition

Joining in for Things I Know once again with Shae from Yay For Home.

This week my kitchen has become baking central in preparation for the twinlets’ first birthday party next weekend. Currently stashed in my freezer are 8 layers of cake, red velvet cupcakes, frittatas, zucchini slice and cupcakes. So I thought, in honor of all the birthday party planning craziness, I should share my tried ‘n trusted cupcake recipe. Found on the internet somewhere eons ago and loved ever since, it’s everything I love in a recipe, easy, quick and the results are delicious every time. So this week, I know my cupcake recipe will be a winner for you too.

 

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups self raising flour

125g softened butter

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

 

Preheat oven to 190c (my oven is on the hot side so I usually cook them on 170-180).

Take all the above ingredients and dump into a mixing bowl. That’s right, just dump them in. You can sift the flour if you really want and I also roughly chop the butter when it’s in the bowl.

Beat on low speed for 2 minutes, then increase the speed to medium for 3 minutes.

At this point your mix will be light, fluffy and pale.

 

 

Now scoop your mix into your cupcake papers. That’s right, you’re almost done, easy huh?

 

Bake for 15-20minutes, or until golden and spring back when you touch them.  Allow to cool before icing with your favourite icing.

Or eat warm from the oven. Delicious.

 


 

 

 

 

 

One Response to Things I know – Party baking edition

  1. ‘easy’, ‘quick’ and ‘cupcake’ – my favourite three words – thank you – they look divine…

Leave a Reply

