Romanticizing?

We’ve been toying with the idea of moving for a while. The majority of our friends and a large portion of our family live approximately an hour away. We discuss selling up and moving, rule it out, put it in the back of our minds until the next time it comes up.

Last weekend we found out another pair of friends is moving to that area too, then a party for another friends child that we don’t get to see nearly often enough and selling up is back in front of our minds. Thommo grew up in that area, I was born in the area but moved away when I was a child. It’s easy to get carried away by the ponderings of what might be, but I wonder how much is potential reality and how much is romanticizing.

It’s hard being an hour away from friends AND having a shift working husband. Thommo works most weekends so all catch ups are planned well in advance. There’s no room for impromptu visits, bbqs etc. Here we live close to my mum and step dad, my sister and my BFF.

“There” is the rest of our friends, people Thommo went to school with, his BFF, my other BFF, a wonderful community of like minded women (who have fortnightly craft nights that I have been pouting about missing since they started), my maternal grandparents, Thommo’s parents, brother and sister in law.

In my mind, there’d be impromptu bbq’s, people dropping by, play dates, regular dinners with my grandparents, Thomlets growing up with a bevy of friends who have awesome parents ( who are, coincidentally, our friends! Lucky huh?). It would be easy for Thommo to visit friends even on work nights. The ability to drop in for a cuppa with friends and have them do the same. The ability to go to craft night!! It feels like it would give Thommo and I the space and ability to be just “Thommo” and “Megs” as seperate entities and not just as “Thommo, Megs and the Thomlets”.

But is that a realistic vision or is it just romanticizing? Of course there would be downsides, being further away from my mum, step dad, sister (and her family including my adorable niece and nephew), further from my BFF. Plus the price gap between where we are now and where we want to be would mean stepping off the property ladder for a bit. But if I’m not overly romanticizing, we’d be surrounded by community and that is oh so appealing.

5 Responses to Romanticizing?

  1. Emma says:

    From my experience, it’s impossible not to romanticize a move like this, just a little. My only advice to you would be don’t get out of the property market. If you decide to make the move, rent your house out for 12 months. That way if “There” isn’t all you’d hoped it would be, you can return home without much fuss at all.

  2. Amy says:

    I know what you mean about having that wanderlust. For me, it’s about wanting to move back to an area where we don’t know ANYONE, and it’s actually an hour away from all the support networks we have here. Regardless, it’s hard to not feel a little like it’s the ‘Grass is greener’ theory.

    Agree with Emma though, if you do decide to do it, try and put tenants in your house so you’ve got a fallback option.

  3. Sazz says:

    Fortnightly craft? Try weekly, my dear. You’re missed every week. Now get here already. It’s really that good ;P

Leave a Reply

