Public transport thy name is freedom

I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching of late. I’ll be honest, I’ve been struggling. It seemed like I hit the wall when the twins were 6 months old. My patience went out the window, my coping skills disappeared and suddenly, where previously we were thriving, I was flailing.

What was different? What changed? Nothing with any of the children, allthough their behaviour suffered from the change in my coping abilities. 2 months down the track and it has finally occured to me. Freedom.

Let’s be honest shall we, I’ve got 4 small children, there ain’t a lot of personal freedom! We’re a 1 car family, which was absolutely fine. Thommo was carpooling with a colleague so I had the car. Unfortunately the carpooling came to an end. And suddenly the kids and I didn’t have the freedom to jump in the car and go on those rough days. And then the weather turned to crap.

Stuck together day in day out, we were all boooooooored and so so so sick of each other. On non raining days we’d head to the local park and Thommo’s days off are filled with family activities. But the big 2 and I definitely had cabin fever!

So today I finally summoned up the courage to venture out on public transport. With 4 children. By myself.

I nearly chickened out. It was a spur of the moment decision, if there had been any planning I’d be willing to bet that I’d change my mind about doing it!

At 10am, with babes tucked in their Ergos we set off to the bus stop. And got there 10 minutes early. So the big boys played:

20 minutes on the bus then it was time to wait for the train. This was the point I got a bit nervous. I didn’t want to have to hold their hands every second we were gone but of course I didn’t want either of them getting hurt!! They stayed close to the fence at the back of the platform for the most part, Lewis tried to venture closer to the tracks a couple of times but it was easy enough to steer him back.

Before long we were on the train:

And fighting over the window:

Other than the brief dispute over the window, the kids were awesome. The babes slept through the whole thing. And Thommo met us halfway between the train station and his work.

I couldn’t stop grinning, I did it. 4 kids, 1 me, public transport. Survived. And suddenly it feels like I have my freedom back. Today was the tester, but there will definitely be more trips. Our world has just opened up again.

Public transport, I love you.

6 Responses to Public transport thy name is freedom

  1. Feistykel says:

    YAY!!!!!!! Go you!!!!!

  2. Meg says:

    Lovely stuff!

  3. Nire says:

    You never stop amazing me! Well done and hooray for freedom!

  4. Kerry says:

    Four littlies + one you = super mum!

  5. Lou says:

    Really effing proud of you !! Lxoxox

  6. Georgie says:

    I don’t drive, and taking the three kids on public transport is a right pain in the behind sometimes, but then I think: what if I wasn’t ‘brave’* enough to do it, I’d be stuck at home or close to home all the time, that’d be much worse!

    We did 7 buses a day 5 days a week for a couple of years (school runs, before we moved closer to school) and that was TOO MUCH, I grew to really hate PT for a while and so did the kids. Now that we aren’t locked into that commitment, I’m rediscovering the freedom of it.

    * never really seemed that brave to me, because the alternative was being house-bound! My mum doesn’t drive either and did this with 4 kids when I was growing up, so it was really normal to me, but it does freak other people out sometimes, as I’m sure you found.

Leave a Reply

