Under the weather chicken meatball soup

I woke yesterday with that tell tale tickle in my throat, a rotten head cold was moving in. Blergh. I decided a pot of chicken soup was required, stat. I also decided it needed to be easy and super comforting.

I stared at the contents of my pantry for a bit, then threw a couple of handfuls of pearl barley in a bowl to soak. Made the big boys breakfast. Remembered that soaking requires water. Added water to the barley.

Went to the butcher and bought 500g of chicken thigh mince and some chicken stock cubes (liquid would be better but they didn’t have any and I wasn’t going anywhere else hunting for it, sick remember? Home made would of course be the ultimate. But. 4 kids. And sick). Then to the fruit and veg shop next door for celery, carrots, parsnip, swede, baby spinach and onions. Herbs would have been nice had I thought of them (note to self, grow herbs).

Dice the onions, carrot, celery, swede and parsnip (only used half as it was rather large). Throw into a big pot with some oil. While that was softening I threw the chicken mince an egg and some breadcrumbs in a bowl and stared at the pantry some more. Added a finely diced shallot, splash of worcestershire sauce and some Italian herb mix to the mince and mixed.

Finely chopped some garlic (4 cloves, I like garlic) and threw it in with the veggies, stirred until fragrant then poured in some water and threw in the stock cubes (Vegeta brand). Drained the barley (had been soaking for about 6 hours by that point) and threw it in too. Left it to simmer while I did my hair and got my outfit for the evening ready (BFF date night FTW!).

When the soup was just starting to boil I plopped in little balls of mince, about the size of a marble. Left it to get dressed and hunt for my fave lipstick to no avail.

Once the balls had floated to the surface I put a handful of baby spinach into my bowl then ladled on the soup. Yum.

4 Responses to Under the weather chicken meatball soup

  1. Lib says:

    Yummy!! A makes soup like that for us, but he doesn’t put in the barley….might have to try the barley…what does it do? Just bulk it up a bit?

  2. Erin says:

    Does you deliver?! ;P sounds oh so Yummy. Xox Feel better soon sweetheart

  3. […] 5yo! But alas, alack, all the crazy weather has us all cold ridden. Good excuse for a batch of chicken meatball soup but not much […]

  4. […] 5yo! But alas, alack, all the crazy weather has us all cold ridden. Good excuse for a batch of chicken meatball soup but not much […]

Leave a Reply

