Breastfeeding and photos on the ‘net

In response to a comment on my first post about breastfeeding the twins I thought I’d explain why I post photos of the twins breastfeeding. Not that I have to justify my decisions to anyone.

So, my reasons for taking and posting breastfeeding photos:

1. Breastfeeding is a major part of parenting the twins at the moment. Let’s face it, newborns aren’t exactly the most exciting of beings, they just lay around sleeping and looking cute for most of the day (if you’re lucky they sleep lots overnight too), waking occassionally to be fed (or not so occassionally at that lovely 6 week growth spurt). Most of the twins awake time at the moment is spent breastfeeding. So I could take photos of me changing nappies but I think breastfeeding photos sum up our bond at the moment pretty nicely.

2. Breastfeeding twins is HARD. Stating the obvious much? I have posted many Facebook statuses and photos on Facebook for this reason. Whether I’m posting about the good or the bad I’m doing it to push myself on, to keep motivated to get through the hard bits. And it’s so nice getting the comments from friends cheering me on too, I read back over those in the hard moments when bottles become oh so appealing.

3. Breastfeeding is natural. Breasts are there to feed babies, that is their primary purpose. Unfortunately our society now views breasts as sexual so getting your breasts out to feed your baby is somehow shocking. Getting my breasts out to feed my babies is the most natural thing in the world.  I’m feeding my babies, I’m not trying to titilate or be “sexy” don’t like it, don’t look. Simple.

4. For other twin mums. When I was pregnant I was fascinated by breastfeeding twins, I wanted as much information on it as possible, I wanted to see how it was done, how it worked logistically. And when you’re feeling utterly miserable, sore and barely leaving the house, the internet is where you turn. Women sharing their photos and stories of their breastfeeding journey inspired me and helped make me determined to give it my all.

So there you go. Sorry you find such a natural thing revolting AreYouKiddingMe, but I don’t.

5 Responses to Breastfeeding and photos on the ‘net

  1. Katharine says:

    Absofuckinglutely!!!!!!!! You’ve hit the nail on the head, AGAIN. I know it’s hard, but try and forget you read that pathetic comment from that loser. Letting it bother you is exactly what he/she wants. Just carry on the way you are, and know that those of us without hate in our hearts, and with brains in our heads, think you are the bomb.

  2. ljma2009 says:

    For about 5 minutes I let it upset me, but then I remembered, I’m not doing anything wrong, I haven’t done anything to be upset about or ashamed of, all I’m doing is feeding me babies. If people find that so offensive or revolting then that is their problem, not mine.

  3. JD says:

    I remember someone coming up to me in the supermarket while I was attempting to talk to my not-quite-toddler, load the groceries on to the checkout, and breastfeed my newborn, because apparently I needed to “cover that up with a wrap”

    I suggested it would be much easier if they just put the wrap on their head 😉

    You’re doing a great job.

  4. Miranda says:

    Well said Megs!! Let’s hope the twit reads this 🙂

  5. Annette says:

    I just stumbled upon your blog. I’m breastfeeding five week old twins- I think you’re a rock star.

Leave a Reply

