Not the perfect mother

If you’re looking for the perfect mother then best you not look here! My children had muffins for breakfast (the cakey kind) yesterday because I was sick and really couldn’t be bothered making toast or cleaning up the mess Weetbix brings. And it’s not the first time it’s happened (bless my mum for loving to bake for her grandchildren!).

My washing pile is huge, I generally wait until we’re scraping the bottom of the barrel for clothes before I tackle Mount Washmore. Mount Foldmore has conquered me, besides, I have a 2yo and 3yo who love to empty out their bedroom drawers, much easier to just leave the clean clothes in the washing baskets.

My children watch too much tv, have too few baths and often sleep in the clothes they were wearing that day. I’m far from perfect mother material. But my children are loved, oh how they are loved. They are cuddled and kissed multiple times a day, they know how loved they are. They get messy, the house gets messy, there’s noise and dirt and food scraps, half eaten apples hidden like the grossest of treasure.

It’s not perfect, not by a long shot. But it’s perfect for me and perfect for them. We’re happy, we’re loved, there is lots of laughter and lots of chaos. That’s my kind of perfect.

2 Responses to Not the perfect mother

  1. Erin says:

    Sweetie a clean house and squeaky clean kids does not equal perfection. The laughter, the fun, the love coming from your house… That is perfection. You are an awesome mother. Xox

  2. Clare says:

    Your life, as it is being perfect for you is spot on! It is perfect for you, hub and your gorgeous children. That is enough. Love, laughter, and lots of hugs and kisses.

Leave a Reply

